Mexican Sweet Pumpkin Dessert

C I T I N E R A R I E S via KidWorldCitizen


KidWorldCitizen Recipe

Ingredients:

1-2 pumpkins that will fit in the pot you are using

piloncillo (dark, unrefined cane sugar)

the juice from 1 orange

cinnamon sticks

optional: butter, cloves, anise seeds, sweetened condensed milk;

Piloncillo is normally sold in Mexico in conical shapes. I ran out of the piloncillo I had brought home from Mexico, but fortunately found that Goya makes and distributes it in this packaging in the US at local supermarkets. If you cannot find it, you can use brown sugar and molasses (in the US), or golden syrup (in the UK, Australia, New Zealand).

Cover and simmer
Cut the pumpkin into chunks, leaving the seeds and pulp intact. I did need to take out some of the seeds this time to roast for my son’s preschool class “homework.” Put in the piloncillo, the cinnamon sticks, squeeze the juice out of an orange, and add a couple of inches of water. Sometimes cooks in Mexico add in anise seeds and or cloves to the water, and some cooks also put in a couple of pats of butter. Cover and simmer until the pumpkin is very tender, spooning the juices over the pumpkin and stirring the slices so they all get down in the syrup. Serve warm with the juicy syrup, and if you have some on hand, sweetened condensed milk.¡Aprovecho!

One thought on “Mexican Sweet Pumpkin Dessert

  1. Pingback: RECIPE: Mexican Sweet Pumpkin Dessert | C I T I N E R A R I E S

Leave a Reply

